VHS to DVD

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Bob_M, Jan 16, 2006.

1. Bob_M

Bob_M Stunt Coordinator

Hi All,

I would like to convert a few VHS to DVD via my computer. I have an ATI TV wonder tuner card installed in my system.

I am not an expert here so I want to make sure I purchase the correct software. If I go with something like ROXIO's Easy Media Creator will I have all I need? How about Adobe's Premiere?

Thanks Bob

2. SethH

SethH Cinematographer

I recently downloaded the trial version of Adobe Premiere Elements 2.0. I think it's great software. Not extremely user friendly, but once you find your way around it, it's pretty sweet. I've got Easy Media Creator and I'm not a huge fan of it.

I've heard great things about a Sony program called Vegas (I think). It's in the price range with Premiere Elements and is supposed to be very good. Download some trials and see what you like best. Note that you probably won't be able to burn DVD's with the trial version because the MPEG-2 encoder is what you pay for with the product (if you burn with the trial of Premiere Elements it puts an Adobe icon on the screen).

3. Paul McElligott

Paul McElligott Cinematographer

Paul McElligott
    Vegas is not in the same price range as Premiere Element. Vegas is $600 while their Sony Music Studio (based on Vegas) is $100, like Elements.

Sony had a problem recognizing my breakout box, forcing me to plug the camera directly into the back of the computer. I preferred Sony's interface and feature set but:

A) that was against Adobe Elements 1.0 and

B) I found Adobe more stable on my system.

4. RyanCC

RyanCC Extra

win dvr is pretty good recording software, not sure of the other capabilities, but the tv recorder comes in like 10 times clearer than the ati software.

edit: i guess you can record vcr and other input sources.

5. SethH

SethH Cinematographer

Sorry, didn't realize there are multiple versions. Sony Vegas Movie Studio is in the same range as Premiere Elements.