VERY odd 4x DVD-R errors with DVR-A05

Discussion in 'Computers' started by John_Berger, Aug 27, 2003.

1. John_Berger

John_Berger Cinematographer

I'm just wondering if anyone has seen this.

For the past two years with my DVR-A03, I've been making my DVDs by creating a DVD folder then using the included Prassi/Veritas PrimoDVD to transfer the DVD directory structure to the DVD-R. It's worked flawlessly and I've made zero coasters with it.

I finally got a batch of 4x DVD-Rs and tried to make a new project with the same method using the same software. As usual, I did a test burn on the 1x DVD-R/W media and it worked fine. Burn the directory structure to DVD-R (while drooling at the spped of a 15 minue write instead of 1 hour) and suddenly the disc completely fails on my DVD players. DVD-ROM is fine, but the standalones can't read the discs. This is incredibly bizarre because I used the exact same method that I've been doing for two years.

So, I install the NTI CD Maker software that came with the drive. Same problem. Now I'm getting pissed.

I decided to install Nero 5.5. After going through the wizard to create a video DVD using the same principle (just burning the DVD directory structure), the discs work fine in my standalones!

I'm relieved that I only made three coasters before my success with Nero, but this makes absolutely no sense to me. The data structure for this project is no different than any other DVD directory that I made since I've been using the same DVD creation software for two years. WHY would the software that I've been using suddenly create desktop-unreadable DVDs just because I switched to 4x media? This is really confusing. It's like your car failing because you switched from regular unleaded to super unleaded.

Has anyone else ever experienced this?

2. Ken Chan

Ken Chan Producer

3. John_Berger