What's new

Very first 5.1 setup, need help and advice (1 Viewer)

Obaldius

Auditioning
Real Name
Estu
Hi guys. This is my very first 5.1 setup, total newbie. I want something really small. something that adds some bass and surround to the experience. My budget is 200€. I found this on Amazon and I like them, will this live up to my low expectations?

Sony HT-S20R

besides of that, my TV placement is not the best. The long red line and the cube are the soundbar and the subwoofer. The other two red dots are the satellites. Main problem I find is I have a wall in the left side of the theater zone but I have no wall on the right side.

How should I adjust my setup taking that into account? thanks in advanced for any help.

1635657786341.png

kalm_traveler

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jake
Minding that I'm by no means an expert here, I have been fiddling with surround sound since the late 1990's.

As far as your space - with the open area on the right side there's not really anything which can be done positionally. As far as sound immersion, you still want the speakers in some sort of recommended positions relative to the seating position - I do not think this changes at all with sub-optimal room shapes though you might need to get creative if you're unable to put speakers in the recommended configuration.

That being said, I also am not a big fan of sound bars - while I hear that they can simulate some surroundish sound... even with that low budget personally I wouldn't recommend them. Since you said you'd like to add some bass and 'surround experience' I might instead look for a used full 5.1 setup or if you can save a little more something like this Klipsch 5.1 set would be worlds better than that Sony sound bar kit: