What's new

Vertical ghosting line due to cable box (1 Viewer)

Scott Wong

Second Unit
Real Name
Scott Wong
Hi all. I just received Time Warner Digital Cable a few dyas ago. I have their digital cable box in my A/V rack on top of my VCR. This evening is the first time I've played a DVD on my system since the installation of digital cable. Bear in mind, this is my first time with a cable box.
I'm assuming due to some type of interference from the cable box, there is a ghosting line that scrolls vertically from top to bottom while playing a DVD!!! *GRR!* :angry:
It drove me absolutely crazy to the point where I actually had to shut off the movie.
All of my interconnects and cables are sort of bound together in my A/V rack so moving anything around would be quite time consuming. Luckily enough, I'm moving in less than two weeks so I'll be able to better experiment with things better at that point. I'm thinking I may attempt moving my DVD player to the very top shelf in my A/V rack and the cable box which is on top of my VCR at the moment to the very bottom shelf of my A/V rack.
If that doesn't work, I have no idea how I could possibly alleviate this problem. I have a Monster Power HTS5000 line conditioner that everything (including coaxial cables) are plugged into. Not sure what other information is relevant but I have a Sony WEGA KV-36FV15 and my DVD player is a Toshiba SD-6200. I have the DVD player's video connected directly to my Sony via the component video outs. I use Monster Cable M-series and Z-series interconnects throughout the entire system.
I'll get rid of digital cable if the problem persists, as the quality of my DVD viewing is most important to me.
Any input?
Scott.

Scott Wong

Second Unit
Real Name
Scott Wong
*bump*

Does anyone have any ideas about this? Or have any of you ever experienced this before?

Scott.

Paul D Cook

Auditioning