What's new

Veneer questions (1 Viewer)

al lout

Stunt Coordinator
Sup all, I'm in a process of putting together my main speaker cabinets. The question is if I round up the edges of the two sides, how hard is it to wrap the veneer over the rounded corner? I would like to round off the edges but I'm afraid it might be difficult to wrap the veneer around it. This will be the first time that I'll attempt to veneer my cabinet. I have no experience what so ever. I'm thinking of getting some rosewood veneer. Can someone direct me to where can I get it for cheap. I'm probably going to need 4' x 8' sheet. I would like to shop at the local area, but if online is much cheaper I will order it online. Anyone knows where in the Los Angeles/Alhambra area that I can go take a look? Thanks all.

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor

I don't think you are going to find nice rosewood in 4x8 sheets. In fact, the 4x8 sheets are mostly ordinary stuff- maple, cherry oak etc. The best place to purchase interesting veneer by far is Ebay in my experience.

JustinSC

Grip
I'm looking to get a roundover bit from MLCS which one should I get? I'm looking at a 1/2" shank size but what radius, large dia., and carbide height?

al lout

Stunt Coordinator
Brian, thank you for the info.

I'm hasitate to round off the edges cuz' I'm afraid that the backed paper veneer can't take it. For the first time veneerer, do you recommend to round off the edges? Also, the flush tweeter driver hole is worrying me as well. I don't know how to cut the veneer off:frowning: I need to do more research I guess. Thanks.

Al,

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor

The best way is to veneer before cutting the recess, but it is too late for that. If your through hole and recess have already been done, and you have a rebate bit, then veneer over the hole, rough cut the veneer with a sharp knife, then run the rebate bit set shallow to trim the veneer. If this is not possible, your in for a long tough session with a razor blade.