Vacation ideas

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave Smith, Aug 21, 2002.

1. Dave Smith

Dave Smith Stunt Coordinator

The project I've been working on for the last two years is finally wrapping up. I get three weeks of R&R (basically free vacation time, but I have to take it immediately), and it's probably starting next Tuesday.

I want to take my wife somewhere nice, but I don't really know where to go! I'd like to keep the budget to around $2000 excluding plane tickets (I have enough air miles to get pretty much anywhere), for 8-10 days probably.

I was looking at Hawaii but it looks too expensive, the cheapest hotel room I could find on any island apart from Oahu was over $250 a night. I also looked at Cancun on a recommendation from a friend, but the number of hotels available is pretty overwhelming and I don't really know where to start. Plus, I don't know what there is to do there.

Any ideas? I'm open to just about anywhere warm and fairly laid-back, as long as there's stuff to do. My wife and I aren't the type who can just lie on a beach for two weeks.

Dave

2. Kenneth

Kenneth Supporting Actor

I have travelled a lot in Asia and although the airfare can sometimes be problematic there are some nice sights that can be easy on the budget. Some ideas in Asia:

Fly to Singapore, see the sights for a few days. Take the Orient Express to Thailand (a couple of days trip, I think). See sights in Bangkok for a few days. Either fly to Phuket (if you want to do the beach scene) or fly/bus to Chiang Mai (crafts, treking, river rafting, lots of temples, etc). Although you might have to do some careful shopping you might be able to swing it for around 2000. (edit: I checked fares on the Orient Express and unless you get a REALLY good deal that part is out. The rest still stands. :b )

Japan is nice to visit but would be nearly impossible on a 2000 budget.