Using XP Pro on AMD K6 processor

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by anthony_b, Mar 20, 2003.

  1. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    Has anyone upgraded to XP pro from 98se using an AMD K6 processor ?....that's what I'm using with 224 MB of ram.

    Should I stick with 98se or should I perform the upgrade, and if so should I wipe out 98 or upgrade from 98 ?
     
  2. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    what K6 processor are you using? Personally I wouldn't run XP on anything slower then 500Mhz and 256MB RAM....even then it can be painful.
     
  3. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm using a 400mhz....should I increase my memory before I go ahead with it ?...Also, how much disk space does it use ?
     
  4. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too would not recommend moving to Windows XP with a processor slower then 500mhz (Minimum) and 256mb ram. I have installed it on a 450mhz AMD K6 processor and it didnt run well at all even after I set Windows XP to run as best performance, turning off all extras. My advice is to upgrade your processor, motherboard, ram, first before looking to go to XP. Otherwise it will be more frustrating then its worth.

    KyleS
     
  5. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah, after all the hardware upgrades, I'm probably better off bying a DELL P4 for $599.
     
  6. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are correct Anthony [​IMG]
     
  7. SteveMc

    SteveMc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried running XP on my thinkpad that runs a PII Celeron 366 w/256 RAM and it was almost un-runnable. Would click and wait 5-10 seccs to respond. Stick with 98 unless you get a newer rig.
     

Share This Page