Using WinMe standby.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jacob_St, May 4, 2002.

  1. Jacob_St

    Jacob_St Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2000
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Dell Dimension 8100 (pentium 4)with WinMe preinstalled. My problem is with the "stand by" function. Whenever I put the machine in stand by the hard drive turns off but the fans keep going. Is this normal for Dell PC's and WinMe? I'd rather just put my computer in standby then having to shutdown and restart it all the time. Shutting the PC down seems to be the only thing that shuts the fans off.
     
  2. Kevin P

    Kevin P Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Micron does the same thing. As long as the power supply is on, the fans run. Standby mode just shuts down the processor, drives, and cards but keeps the RAM active, so the power supply fans stay on as well.

    I don't usually use standby mode on my PC, just on my laptop.

    KJP
     
  3. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    I used to have this problem too but I noticed that when I upgraded to Win XP, it was resolved.
     
  4. RobertSchaez

    RobertSchaez Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Standby/ Hibernate has never worked right on my Dell 4100/WinME. The consensus of opinions on DellTalk was that it was a Windows ME glitch and just don't use it. Dell tech support basically said the same thing. It is mainly to conserve power on laptops. If you need to leave your computer on for some reason and still want to conserve power, turn off your monitor, printer, etc.
     
  5. nolesrule

    nolesrule Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Real Name:
    Joe Kauffman
    I agree. WinME is a glitch and no one should ever use it.
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page