Using seperate audio/video source on receiver

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by MarcusDiddle, Feb 13, 2004.

  1. MarcusDiddle

    MarcusDiddle Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is my FIRST POST! I'm glad to have found this place, and hope everyone can offer me some advice. I'm going to try and detail my problem as much as possible...

    I've got a Sony STR-DE885 receiver and I want to be able to use one video source while using another audio source. For instance, my cable box (Pioneer 1100) uses Digital Audio out (also RCA but no thanks). The only Digital Audio IN on my receiver is for DVD/LD.

    So I've got my cable box's video going to Video1 on the receiver (S-video), and my audio going to DVD/LD (digital coax). Now when I switch my receiver to Video1, I have picture but no sound; when I switch it to DVD/LD, I have sound but no picture! On the receiver itself. I can manually select the proper audio/video sources, and everything works the way I want it, but it doesn't save the settings; just keeps them temporarily. Once I switch to say, TV/SAT, and go back to Video1, I've got the same probem all over again. Anyone got any ideas on how to change the default audio/video sources for each Function on the receiver? The Sony manual, as always, is little or no help at all...
     
  2. WayneO

    WayneO Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sucks that the Sony doesn't save your setting, I'm not familiar with it, but I'm sure there is no secret way to do it if it's not evident in the setup menus. Doesn't the DVD/LD have an S-video input to use? Or maybe just run the s-video straight to the tv.
     
  3. Nathan Stohler

    Nathan Stohler Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marcus,

    When you have your receiver set to Video1, try pushing "Input Mode" on your receiver until the display says "COAXIAL FIXED".

    I don't know for sure if that will work, but it's worth the try.

    --Nathan
     
  4. Lew Crippen

    Lew Crippen Executive Producer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don’t know your receiver, but you should be able to save the setting (perhaps something along the lines of Nathan’s suggestion).

    Otherwise you can always run the S-Video direct, as Wayne suggests (this has an advantage of one fewer connection). But if this does not appeal, you can always buy a switch box.
     
  5. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,100
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    I’m probably missing something obvious here, but why run the video to a different input? Why not run it through the DVD/LD input, same as the audio?

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  6. MarcusDiddle

    MarcusDiddle Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because my DVD/LD video input is component. My cablebox's video-out is S-video. However, my DVD/LD audio input is Digital-coax, which happens to be my only option (sans RCA) of audio-output for my cablebox. So my options for audio/video inputs for each are conflicting.
     
  7. Nathan Stohler

    Nathan Stohler Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually have the STR-DE885. I realized that you can't simply change "Input Mode". The coax input seems to be hardwired for the DVD input.

    What you could do is connect your cable box to the DVD audio and DVD video inputs on your receiver. Connect your DVD's digital out to one of the other optical inputs that you're not using. Then, you can edit the input name shown on your display. The only downside is that the input names on your remote will not match.

    Also, isn't there a converter you can buy to convert from coax to optical?

    --Nathan
     
  8. MarcusDiddle

    MarcusDiddle Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0

    Is there really? That's what I really need. I can't take my cablebox's video into the DVD video input because the cablebox is S-video and my DVD is component. If I could get a converter like the one you mentioned, then I could use the digital-coax in on my receiver for my DVD, and then take my cablebox into an optical input on the receiver. As it is, optical is not an option for my cablebox.

    I've already renamed all the inputs on my receiver to match up with what I'm using them for (Cable, DVD, Xbox, iPod). And as far as the remote buttons not matching up, I've got an RM-AV3000 and I've renamed all the buttons to match the functions above[​IMG]

    Anyone know where you can get a digital-coax-to-optical converter? Is there any quality loss when using one?
     
  9. Nathan Stohler

    Nathan Stohler Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marcus,
    Do a web search for "digital optical coax converter" or something. Here's one result:

    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/a..._adapters.html

    This link has a converter for $25. That seems a little high to me, but it may be worth it. I'm not sure why Sony designed the receiver this way. Other than this flaw, I think this is a fine receiver.

    --Nathan
     
  10. MarcusDiddle

    MarcusDiddle Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Nathan, I found a couple sites selling those after I posted. Wonder if the quality of the converter comes into play at all? I checked Monster's site and they don't seem to make this type of converter. I may try it out. It'd be worth $25 if I could take my cablebox into optical and keep my digital-coax-in for DVD.

    Thanks for all your help everyone!
     

Share This Page