Using RG-6 cable for pre-amp signals

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ReneS, Feb 21, 2002.

  1. ReneS

    ReneS Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got a whole bunch of Belden RG-6U cable from the local cable company and used some of it for a pre-amp link between two stereo systems that will be in my new house. I also used this same cable for a pre-amp to the sub. I can't find a Belden part number on the cable. It was probably made for the cable company since it has its name on it.

    I know this probably isn't the Belden's RG6 that most people on this site recommend for pre-amp signals, but will I really notice a huge difference. I'm mostly concerned about the sub's pre-amp. If I would have had more time I would have gotten the right cable. Thanks for any feedback.
     
  2. Scott_G

    Scott_G Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use RG-6 for all my interconnects. I don't use Belden, but use Canare L-5CFB RG6. Many people do, and many boutique cables are made from belden (or similar) RG6.

    -Vince
     

Share This Page