Using Dishnetwork Oval Dishes with Direct TV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Lanny Hoff, Apr 1, 2002.

  1. Lanny Hoff

    Lanny Hoff Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm the proud owner of a complete pile of garbage Dishnetwork Displayer and I'm completely fed up with it.

    The satellite dish I've got on the roof is an oval bugger and my question is this: can I use the dish and the LNB units from my Dishnetwork gear with Direct TV?

    My thinking is this: I'd like to re-orient the existing dish to the Direct TV HD feeds and normal satellite programming, use the hardware that is already on the roof and just change the receiver. Can it be done?
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,303
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    If you have a Dish500 (the 20" dish) then you may be able to use it. If it has two dual LNBs, that's OK. If it has the wider Twin or Quad LNB, then those aren't compatible. None of the Dish switches are compatible if they start with "SW-"

     
  3. Lanny Hoff

    Lanny Hoff Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your information has been helpful. Thanks a lot!
     

Share This Page