1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Using computer 7.1 in a small living room

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by pengyou1, Dec 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. pengyou1

pengyou1 Auditioning

tom
    I'm a newbie here, and haven't played around with stereo stuff since the late 70's...back when they used stone and chisel to reproduce the sound :) I have a small apartment in Beijing now and would like to set up a home theater system in it. I am looking at an i5 with an ssd for the system apps, a 7200 rpm hd for the rest of the stuff, and a bluray player. I am pretty familiar with the pc part of the equation but I am looking to learn about the sound system. My friends have 7.1 speaker systems(computer speaker systems) hooked up to their computer for gaming. I have listened to movies on them and like the sound but the space is smaller than my living room, about 1/3 the size. is it possible to get 2 7.1 systems hooked up to one computer?

2. Message #2 of 8 Dec 24, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2017
    DaveF

DaveF Moderator

Dave
    You want 7 speakers, a subwoofer, and an amplified receiver. Then connect whatever devices you have into the receiver by HDMI, including your PC. Connect the receiver HDMI out to the display (HDTV or whatever).

Done.

3. DaveF

DaveF Moderator

Dave
    Side notes:

The PC is not the speaker amplifier.

The PC is an AV source, equivalent to an AppleTV or Roku or standalone blu-ray player.

You’re not connecting other AV sources into the PC.

Get a normal speakers and a conventional receiver.

Don’t get a HomeTheater in a Box.

Don’t get a SoundBar unless you’re certain it has enough HDMI inputs for all devices you’ll want for its lifetime.

4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Your post is a bit hard to follow: