What's new

Using computer 7.1 in a small living room (1 Viewer)

pengyou1

Auditioning
Real Name
tom
I'm a newbie here, and haven't played around with stereo stuff since the late 70's...back when they used stone and chisel to reproduce the sound :) I have a small apartment in Beijing now and would like to set up a home theater system in it. I am looking at an i5 with an ssd for the system apps, a 7200 rpm hd for the rest of the stuff, and a bluray player. I am pretty familiar with the pc part of the equation but I am looking to learn about the sound system. My friends have 7.1 speaker systems(computer speaker systems) hooked up to their computer for gaming. I have listened to movies on them and like the sound but the space is smaller than my living room, about 1/3 the size. is it possible to get 2 7.1 systems hooked up to one computer?

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
You want 7 speakers, a subwoofer, and an amplified receiver. Then connect whatever devices you have into the receiver by HDMI, including your PC. Connect the receiver HDMI out to the display (HDTV or whatever).

Done.

Last edited:

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Side notes:

The PC is not the speaker amplifier.

The PC is an AV source, equivalent to an AppleTV or Roku or standalone blu-ray player.

You’re not connecting other AV sources into the PC.

Get a normal speakers and a conventional receiver.

Don’t get a HomeTheater in a Box.

Don’t get a SoundBar unless you’re certain it has enough HDMI inputs for all devices you’ll want for its lifetime.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Your post is a bit hard to follow:

My friends have 7.1 speaker systems(computer speaker systems) hooked up to their computer for gaming. I have listened to movies on them and like the sound but the space is smaller than my living room, about 1/3 the size.