use both sub outs on receiver or not

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Travis, Feb 7, 2004.

  1. Travis

    Travis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just purchased a set of 16-46 pc+ subs and am wondering which would be the best way to hook everything up. My sony receiver has 2 sub outs. Would it be best to run each sub off of it's own preout or run both off 1 with a y cable?
     
  2. WayneO

    WayneO Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Won't matter either way, if you already have cables for wiring one way go that route. If you co-locate them, use a Y, if your separating them, use separate.
     
  3. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn’t make a difference. I agree with WayneO. Which ever is more convenient. [​IMG]
     
  4. Travis

    Travis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys I was asking because I heard somewhere that y splitting them put more strain on either the receiver or subs, don't remember which.
     
  5. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem. I have never heard of splitting a line level signal hurting the equipment. Split and enjoy.
     
  6. DelRay

    DelRay Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Sony with 2 sub-outs also. I run seperate cables to my twin subs. Then I use a y splitter for left and right inputs on each sub. Seems to work just fine.
     
  7. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It all works. Just need to get the signal to the sub. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page