What's new

Urgent question about Cd player and Playstation 2 (1 Viewer)

Hey guys, I am really new to home theater and I am very excited to get it set up and running last night, I am sooooo sleepy today
frown.gif
Anyway, the following is what I hooked up:
-Onkyo TX-DS595
-Onkyo DX-C380 to digital optical input 2
-Sony PlayStation 2 to digital optical input 1 with the video cabel going to DVD analog input
-Cable box going to Video input 3
-Sony N51 VCR going to Video input 1 and then from Video output 1 back to VCR
-Also have Klipsch Quintet Surrounds, Center and KSW-10 if you are wondering.
Now for my question. Everything works fine except I find that I cannot listen to music from my cd player and play my playstation 2 at the same time. I haven't really messed around with it much cause I got tired at about 3:00am for so and went to bed. I have two possible solutions so let me know if these will work and which one will be the best.
-Run the CD analog wires to the DVD analog input and also the CD optical to the CD optical input. That way if I just wanna listen to the CD I can switch the input to digital but if I wanna play playstation and listen to music I can switch it to analog. Right now it is set on Auto.
-If I wanted to listen to CD and play playstation I could also switch the digital input on the DVD from Optical 1 to Optical 2 and it would pick up the CD input for the audio and the Playstation (DVD) input for the video.
Will either of these work? Let me know what you think cause I cannot wait to get home to find out.
Thanks in advance
JamesMartin

J

John Coleman

James,
I work for a premium audio and video cable company, Cobalt Cable, and I will take a stab at your question. From what you wrote, I don't see why either option wouldn't work. However, if I had to choose, I would pick your option #1. This is simply because I like to keep everything as simple and intuitive as possible.