Uploading web page

Discussion in 'Computers' started by DaveNel, Jan 4, 2005.

  1. DaveNel

    DaveNel Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone tell me how to upload a web page to roadrunner.

    its home.cinci.rr.com Ive been at this for a bit with no luck at all..
     
  2. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weeeell I'm not sure if Roadrunner has their own little setup but you can access your webspace by downloading an FTP program like SmartFTP and entering in this info:

    Address: home.cinci.rr.com
    Login: [your login to access your email]
    Password: [your p/w to access your email]

    Hopefully someone can chime in with directory Navigation. With Comcast they give you a useless feature called MyFileLocker but I always drop everything into separate folders I make. If you see public_html go inside it and start from there.
     
  3. DaveNel

    DaveNel Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded a few programs like sitespinner and a couple of others, Only problem I am having is once the page is made and uploaded (published) it doesnt take the pictures
    it just leaves the blank boxes where the pics should be and
    the red x on it. The test and all I put in the page is ok and seems like everything else is right except the images
    just quite dont make it.
     
  4. DaveNel

    DaveNel Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually wish Roadrunner would do what AOL does..
    they give you different templates, You type the text in
    and any format you want. The images are all drag and drop
    plus you can adjust the pics once you put them in the page.. That was easy..

    But I guess I wanted a faster internet and now I have to
    work a little to get the home page up [​IMG]
     
  5. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hehe well I think what you're doing is when you create your webpage on your home computer you're pointing the location of the images to a path on your harddrive. The directory structure should go something like this:

    - Make a folder called car
    - Within that folder upload a page called index.html which will be the main page
    - When making index.html on your HD and you want to insert an image make sure the code just says:
    Code:
    [SIZE=2]

    With no extra url path jargon (bad ex: c:///mydocuments/engine1.jpg)
    - Upload the pic engine1.jpg to the car directory

    And it should work. Making sense or did I explain it confusingly?
     
  6. DaveNel

    DaveNel Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Scott I will give that a try, I fought 4 different prg's last night for 6 hrs (LOL)
     
  7. DaveNel

    DaveNel Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello

    The programs I was using I was using right but they were trial and shareware versions and when I would go to
    publish and upload the Page, It wasnt loading the objects
    and pictures. Now if I paid for a full version it would have uploaded the pics ..I think I am going to get a full version of sitespinner That program was easy to use..
     

Share This Page