Upgraditis vs. Reality; Whats your take ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John Spicer, Feb 28, 2003.

1. John Spicer

John Spicer Agent

Im fairly new to the Home Audio / Home Theater arena. I just put in my first 5.1 system this past December now that I finally own my own home. The system is by most standards pretty modest (HK320, B&W DM series, SVS). Anyway, the wifey and I have been wearing out our Netflix subscription and Ive finally been able to listen to not just music, but its musicality at home. Needless to say I am quite pleased and the B&W's still make my ears melt.

The question though is that while I *love* my total setup which is probably in the $5K range with monitor, how much more (if any) do you really get going the upgrade route? If say I were to go the route with seperate amps, processors, sterio gear, how much return or gains would be recieved ? I understand and believe that there are many benefits that are not necissarily tangible. Things like pride, excitement, the chase of finding new hardware, the "whos got the biggest" phenomenoa, are all drivers to upgrade. Its a real hobby and addiction for some, which I feel is really quite valid. However, as far as performance, I also believe in the theory of diminishing returns, which, Im sure many here are familiar with.

All this comes down to I guess one underlying curiosity. Anyone who honestly knows what good sound is (maybe because of past jobs or experiences) and who wants an excellent system at home for entertainment but who doesnt want to necessarily persue HT as a hobby, does following the upgrade route really give them enough performance to justify the cost? Basically, taking away the fun of the hunt and installtion, does the show really get that much better going past the mid-fi arena in a personal application ?

What are your thoughts ?

-- John

2. Angelo.M

Angelo.M Producer

3. BrianWoerndle

BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor