Upgrading using a Socket adaptor

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul Wu, Apr 16, 2002.

  1. Paul Wu

    Paul Wu Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 1999
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anybody have any experience with upgrading a Slot 1 MB using one of those Socket adaptors? Any tips?

    I've got a Abit BH6 running a Celeron 300A OC'd to 450. I'm looking to upgrade to a Celeron 1.1Ghz by using a socket to slot adaptor. Are there things I should be on the look out for?

    I'm looking to extend the life of this PC for a bit longer so I'm not looking at buying a new MB or CPU. My next machine will be a nice new box.
     
  2. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably won't work. With the BH6, you're limited in certain ways because of BIOS.. the highest I know of anyone carrying it with a slocket is 1Ghz P3.. after that you top out..
    You might check out: http://www.powerleap.com/ for more info.
     
  3. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have used some slockets; in particular, the Abit Slocket 3 and the Asus S370-DL models. Also, a couple of generic models. Have had no problems.
    I don't have any experience w/ the BH6 personally but I have seen OC results of this mobo w/ a 1100 Celly2 (the 128 L2 cache model). See the CPU Database @ www.overclockers.com for some OC results of the 1100 and you'll see some BH6 boards.
     
  4. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,749
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Be sure you have the latest and greatest in BIOS for the BH6, the one from last summer IIRC. That's the only way I could get a Celeron-II 566 and MSI slotket to run reliably at 850MHz overclocked.
     
  5. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, to clarify: the BH6 will support OC'd Celerons to 1100.. and it'll support the Celeron2, but it will not (cannot really, without a different adapter) support the Celeron3 because of the different power requirements of the CPU.
     

Share This Page