What's new

Upgrading to new receiver but using HTIB speakers (1 Viewer)

Dave*R

Auditioning
This may be addressed elsewhere, but being a noob, I couldn't seem to find an answer that satisfied me. Sorry if this is in the wrong forum (can't decide if it's a speaker or a receiver issue!)

My Panasonic HTIB (SC-HT67) has a power supply problem, and since I bought it from a friend friend for only $50, I figured I may as well begin to build a true HT with separate components! I've always wanted to get away from HTIB... I understand the issues.

Anyhow, since I just had a baby, the budget's a bit tight. I'm looking to be able to grow this system over time. I've found some decent looking receivers for about $200 (again, wish I could spend more!) and I'm thinking of cannibalizing the Panasonic speakers.

My issue is this: the receivers I'm looking at have outputs of 110 watts x 6 @ 8 ohms and 90 watts x 6 @ 8 ohms. The speakers I have are 6 ohms and say 60W (MUSIC). I'm not sure what the "music" part has to do with anything... Does this tell me how much they can handle? Because the manual says the panasonic amp is putting out 28 W x 6 @ 6 ohms.

I know that I'd be happier with better speakers. Eventually, I will get some. But is there anything about this setup that would be potentially damaging (to speakers or amp)?

My hunch is that I will have to be careful about monitoring levels, and turn down if it distorts. But will it distort at low SPL? I want to get a better amp than I currently have. I don't want to have to match the amp to my current, less glamorous speakers.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

Garrett Lundy

Senior HTF Member
The $200 should be fine.

I'm guessing they mean "music" as a continuous & constant power consumption. "Movies", especially the surrounds, tend to be inactive for long periods, then have sudden spikes of needed power.

SteveMetcalf

Agent