What's new

Upgrading Receiver and Need Input (1 Viewer)

ChuckW

Auditioning
Hopefully, third time is charm! :)) I have made two previous posts and only received two responses. I guess since I am new to HT I am not asking the right questions. So I will try one more once.
I currently have a Toshiba 36” TV 36A50. Sharp HTIB HT-DD5000, Sharp DB-710U DVD Video Player, Sharp VC-H813U Video Cassette Recorder and I added a pair of KLH TW-09 Satellite speakers as my “B” speakers. All this is in a 10’+ X 15’ room converted to a dedicated HT.
I purchased the above to put together an inexpensive system to see if this was something I wanted. I DO! Now it is time to build a better system.
I plan to upgrade the receiver first. These are the receivers that I have listed to check out:
Denon AVT-3802 (Because it gets a lot of recommendations here)
Marantz SR-8000 (Listen to and liked it)
Onkyo TX-DS787 (Onkyo recommended a lot here)
Pioneer VSX-36TX (Co-worker has one and recommended it)
Sony STRV-444ES (Co-worker has one and recommended it)
Yamaha RX-V3000 (Listen to and liked it)
I don’t really have a budget, but don’t want to spend more money that needed to put together a good HT given the limitations of the room.
Input and especially pros & cons to the above listed receivers would be greatly appreciated.
Also if anyone knows of a place to audition these with the same speakers in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area would be very helpful. I have been to a couple of CCs and some HT places near my work, but only one had a room setup where I could listen to different receivers with the same speakers.
Thanks in advance!
Chuck

Bobby T

Supporting Actor
I would go and listen to all of them and see which sounds best to you. Then compare features and get the one that sounds the best with the features you like.

Paul Wu

Stunt Coordinator
Here's my 2 cents.