What's new

Upgrading question (1 Viewer)

Ryan Terry

Auditioning
I am thinking of upgrading my alpha 20 and primus c25 center to Polk Rti6 and Csi5. I am really not all that unhappy with the infinity's but I would like a set that is matched. I can do this for around $100 and was wondering what you guys think. I am fairly new to HT and have been visiting the board for a while but this is my first post. Any opinions would be appreciated! Thanks

Ryan

Ryan Terry

Auditioning
Anyone have any input on these speakers? Think it would make a difference in sound quality? If so please let me know! Thanks!

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member
Ryan, Whether you upgrade or not, it has to depend on your preferences for sound.

For example, I have the Polk RTi8s and CSi3 for the center. For me, it seems like the Polks are more of a neutral sounding speaker. Also, to me, the Infinity speakers have a sound where the treble is a bit more pronounced - but, not in a "bright" sort of way. Again, this is just the impression that my deaf ears provide.

If you desire a more neutral sound, go for the Polk speakers. The RTi6s are preferred by most over the RTi8s in the Polk forum at Club Polk. I didn't want to be bothered with speaker stands, so I went with the RTi8s.

My suggestion to you would be to pull a good number of your favorite CDs and head to Circuit City - where you could demo the Alphas against the RTi6s - before they are all sold out. If the Alphas are gone, try the Betas - but, I have a feeling that their sound has changed a bit, so the comparison to the Polks might not be as true when comparing to your Alphas.

Ryan Terry

Auditioning
Wayne,