What's new

Upgrading OLD Speakers (1 Viewer)

Ryan_N

Auditioning
I have a pair of OLD Bozak Speakers (I think they are from between 60's to late 70's). I want to upgrade them. They have 12" woofers, 4" midranges, and 1" dome tweeters. I'm very new to DIY and home theater in general. What can I do do improve upgrade these speakers?

-Ryan

Bob K

Stunt Coordinator
Ryan,

I certainly know the Bozak name -- very famous -- but don't know much about his designs.

Do the speakers work at all? Are the drivers completely shot? Are the crossovers still intact?

Depending on the answers, there are several ways to go. First, if the drivers still function, you could just make new crossovers, using better, more modern parts, rewire and restuff.

If the drivers are shot, it's unlikely you are going to find identical drivers, or even identical-size drivers. In that case, I would try to estimate the inner volume of each speaker and then look around the web and forums such as http://www.madisound.com for a diy design or kit designed to fill that volume. With this approach you are basically just using the box. You would remove the old drivers, crossovers, stuffing etc. You would also have to create new front baffles to accept the new drivers.

One of my first speaker projects involved doing just this with a pair of old Ohm C2 speakers a friend was throwing out. It was very educational, and I now have a great pair of speakers.

Tempest Construction Pix: http://www.audiocircle.com/circles/m...view_album.php

Ryan_N

Auditioning