Upgrading advice?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jeff_A_G, Jan 4, 2006.

  1. Jeff_A_G

    Jeff_A_G Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I'm looking at making a small upgrade as I have a little free money. Right now I have a JVC RX-F10 6.1 reciever running an OK 6.1 setup. Here's where my dilemma comes in - I can either upgrade one of the following, but don't really have money for both:

    1) I can get an amplifier(6x25watts rms) to power the 6 speakers (I already have a dedicated sub amp)
    or
    2) Upgrade the 6 speakers and just run them off the JVC's output power. I plan to make my own speaker cabinets and buy the speakers from somewhere like partsexpress

    Both will cost about the same. Now, if I get the amp, will 25w rms be enough for a decent 6.1 setup or be much improvement over the JVC's current output? Or if I go the other route, will the JVC sound good to the new set of speakers? I know the speaker quality will play into how they sound, but please help me out with what you guys would do!
     
  2. FeisalK

    FeisalK Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,

    1. What is the power output of the RX-F10?

    2. Does the JVC have pre-outs for each channel to feed the external amplifier?
     
  3. Jeff_A_G

    Jeff_A_G Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the specs on the rx-f10:
    Surround Mode Power: 100 Watt @ 6 ohm, 1 kHz, THD: 0.8%

    And the amp has line-level inputs, so I was gonna go that route
     
  4. FeisalK

    FeisalK Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    line level inputs - from an external decoder or DVD player. you need line level OUTPUTS to feed an external power amplifier.
     
  5. Jeff_A_G

    Jeff_A_G Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    deleted because I realized it was a stupid question
     
  6. FeisalK

    FeisalK Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think you can do that - the speaker outputs are amplified signals, and the line level inputs are expecting unamplified signals. Course, someone may already have done this .. but I'd check thoroughly before attempting this
     
  7. Jeff_A_G

    Jeff_A_G Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll look into it. Thanks for the advice
     
  8. Jeff_A_G

    Jeff_A_G Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I talked with the owner of the amp and it does have speaker level inputs that I can hook the speaker outputs of the reciever into. I guess my question now is, will the amp be putting out enough power that it will be an upgrade from the recievers power? Also, I will be getting a better control of each speaker level and crossover point than I can with the reciever, which is another reason I want to go with a seperate amp.
     
  9. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am confused. What multi-channel audio amp has speaker level input?
     
  10. FeisalK

    FeisalK Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me too.

    add to that I'm not sure 25Wpc x6 would be a huge improvement over 100W of the F10, which probaby manages at least 30Wpc in multichannel mode.
     

Share This Page