Upgrading advice, please!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Walter Scott, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going to replace my 15 year old Sony analog Dolby 5.1 preamp with either a new preamp, or a receiver, used in "preamp" mode. (My existing speakers and power amps are all fine and I would like to keep them as-is.) The features I am most looking for, in order of importance, are:

    1.Pre amp out (if receiver)
    2.switched AC outlets
    3.assign custom names to inputs (i.e. "video1" is displayed as "computer")
    4.video up conversion (i.e. composite to component)

    To date I have not been able to find any one receiver or preamp that incorporates all of these functions. Hope someone can help!
     
  2. ChadLB

    ChadLB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Pioneer 54tx does all but I am not sure what you mean by #2......but it does do 1, 3, 4

    chad
     
  3. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you! What I mean by switched AC outlets is to have one or two AC receptacles on the back of the unit, that are switched on when the receiver is switched on. Handy for connecting other equipment to, and having everything switched on and off at the same time. Will immediately investigate the Pioneer you recommend, thank you!
     
  4. John-Tompkins

    John-Tompkins Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 54tx does have a ac outlet with a 100 watt max rating..Im not sure if its switched or not.
    I can highly recommend the 54tx used as a pre-pro.
     
  5. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to the manual I just downloaded it is swithced, and looks like this baby is what I'm looking for. Thank you again!
     
  6. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    15 years old and Dolby 5.1? How's that possible? DD was introduced to market in the mid-90s.
     
  7. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sony TAE1000ESD preamp, purchased in 12/89. Dolby Pro Logic, front channels, center, sub and surround out. sounds GOOD but I need to get into the digital world.
     
  8. JohnSmith

    JohnSmith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you just need a "av pre-amp" then I see no point using a AV amp just for the processing side, or the switched outlets. What are you connecting to the outlets? I hope not the poweramp! :-O

    If you need the ease of use with switching, look for a av pre-amp with 12v trigger. Then find a mains block with switched 12v input. So when the av pre-amp sends signal to the mains block, it'll switch all the plugs on.

    That way you're not using the switched outlets on the av amp /av-pre-amp.
     
  9. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant seem to find a preamp with the features I want.
     
  10. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, my origianl reply got corrupted somehow, so here is a second try

    ....if you just need a "av pre-amp" then I see no point using a AV amp just for the processing side..

    I cant seem to find a preamp with the features I want.


    ...If you need the ease of use with switching, look for a av pre-amp with 12v trigger. Then find a mains block with switched 12v input. So when the av pre-amp sends signal to the mains block, it'll switch all the plugs on....

    YES! Where could I find such a product? what is it called?
     
  11. JohnSmith

    JohnSmith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the Lexicon MC-4 has video up conversion. If you can find 12v mains trigger block you don't need switched outlets. It does allow custom input naming. It's quite a costly product though, I think $3500.

    (I own a earlier Lexicon)

    As for the 12v trigger blocks, I do know they exist, but trying to find them could be a problem. I don't see them very often (if at all) when looking through electrical supplier catalogues.

    Another possibility would be IR controlled mains block, that you place at the wall, with the multi-way connected that that, another are X-10 modules. I'm not sure if you can use high-current devices with these though.

    Rotel make some mains switchers as well. I reckon those should do the job.
    http://www.rotel.com/products/accessories.htm

    btw I can understand with the mains switching- for my HT system I need to switch on 5 poweramps (hard switches)
     
  12. anth_c

    anth_c Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Walter,

    I've got two points:

    1.
    For a switched AC outlet that is controlled by a 12 Volt DC trigger, I've been using a Xantech AC1 for over a year with no problems.

    Go to www.xantech.com

    Then go to products and go down to the Remote Control Switchers section.

    You can find them online for about $60. A couple of other companies make similar products.

    Although it only has one outlet, I have one of those three three-outlet adapters plugged into the AC-1 to allow connection of three devices.

    If you are looking for more outlets, panamax and furman have products starting out around $200.

    2.
    With respect to the receiver/pre-amp, how much are you looking to spend?

    It's my opinion that if you are looking at using a multi-thousand dollar receiver as a preamp, stepping up to dedicated pre-pro will most likely give you more customization and increased performance. I'm not sure which units offer video up-conversion (I understand that the next version of the B&K reference 50 is supposed to, I'm not sure about the latest pre-pro from Anthem).

    Regards,
    Anthony
     
  13. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    >……..
    Rotel make some mains switchers as well. I reckon those should do the job.


    Thanks, this is a definite possibility

    >….
    1.
    For a switched AC outlet that is controlled by a 12 Volt DC trigger, I've been using a Xantech AC1 for over a year with no problems.

    Excellent, thanks!

    >…..
    2.
    With respect to the receiver/pre-amp, how much are you looking to spend?

    It's my opinion that if you are looking at using a multi-thousand dollar receiver as a preamp, stepping up to dedicated pre-pro will most likely give you more customization and increased performance. I'm not sure which units offer video up-conversion (I understand that the next version of the B&K reference 50 is supposed to, I'm not sure about the latest pre-pro from Anthem).


    My situation is that I have all the speakers and power amps wired up, they are working very well, and I don’t really want to go to the hassle of changing everything! It will be much simpler to disconnect my existing preamp and drop in the new one. (I'll be adding component video and digital audio connections from the DVD player, of course!) So far it looks like the Pioneer mentioned by Chad is going to fit my needs.

    Everyone here is very helpful, thank you!
     

Share This Page