Upgraded finally...what do you think?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kami, Jun 21, 2002.

  1. Kami

    Kami Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Old system:
    P3-700e overclocked to 933MHz
    Asus P3V4X mobo (Via Apollo Pro 133a)
    512MB Generic CAS3 PC133
    Asus Geforce 2 GTS @ 220/370
    Monstersound MX300 (good ol' Vortex2 chip)
    Then there's my HDDs, burner, dvd, etc. which are unchanged.
    New stuff added:
    -Athlon XP 1800+ (right now it's overclocked to XP1900+ at default voltage and the temperature only went up 1 degree)
    -Soltek SL-75DVR4 (Via KT266A)
    -512MB Samsung PC2100 DDR
    -MSI GeForce 4 Ti4200 w/ 128MB DDR @ 300/575 (painless overclock there, it smokes a Ti4400)
    -Soundblaster Audigy
    I get a little over 9800 3dmarks in 3DMark2001se...I think this is a decent score?
    Very very happy [​IMG] Most painless upgrade I've ever done done in my 8 years of compulsive upgrading.
     
  2. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey not bad! I get the same scores, slightly bit higher at 9900 3DMarks on my Athlon 1800+ XP with nForce Asus A7N266-C motherboard and 1024 mb RAM. Although it's probably less now after I upgraded a few drivers since then.
     
  3. Andre F

    Andre F Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm jealous...I'm stuck with PII 450mhz...
    -Andre F
     
  4. Kami

    Kami Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a Visiontek Xtacy Geforce 4 ti4400, standard clock settings, 275/550. Overclocking the card causes crashes in GTA3 though. Unlike every other person on the net, I can't overclock this card worth crap. [​IMG]
     
  6. Kami

    Kami Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    That doesn't make sense at all you should get at least 15-20% overclock on that memory...what's your full specs? (including power supply)
     
  7. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Enermax 431W dual-fan powersupply. 2x512mb Samsung PC2700, etc. However, I have AGP4x with sideband addressing and fast write protocol turned on. AGP latency is set to 64 (probably doubles as PCI latency, not sure).
    I think it's just a chip that doesn't happen to overclock well. I crash if I overclock the memory only, or the GPU only.
    Reviewers tend to get cards straight from the manufacturer, which I believe makes sure the card will overclock in the first place. [​IMG]
     
  8. Kami

    Kami Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well then that's a first...the very first GF4 I've heard of that won't overclock.
    Anyway, I did a bit more tweaking and got 3dmark to 20 points below 10,000 [​IMG] No matter what I do it won't go above 10k (default settings). I guess i should stop worrying about a synthetic benchmark anyway and go back to the 1600x1200 gaming goodness [​IMG]
     
  9. Dave E H

    Dave E H Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a Abit GeForce4 4400 - never really overclocked a video card before. How much of a performance increase can I safely get out of this type of card? If it's only 5-10%, it's probably not worth the trouble. If it's more, I'd be interested. I'm not playing any relaly graphics heavy games right now, though I might start Dungeon Seige (don't know how intensive that is...)
     
  10. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kami,

    Just wondering what you think of the 2D quality of the MSI. I'm hoping it's atleast as good as the Voodoo 3 2000 I am getting rid of.




    Jeff
     
  11. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll likely see a 5-10% improvement for a modest overclock.

    I cannot overclock my GPU, but I have been able to o'clock the RAM to 600Mhz successfully with the UT2K3 leaked demo.

    I'm pretty sure it would still crash in GTA3 though, as it did last time I tried that last month.

    Somebody probably didn't put enough heatsink grease on my geforce card when it was assembled. Hmm, I should check that out one day...
     
  12. Kami

    Kami Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dave E H,

    Depends how far you o/c it. For example, I increased the memory bandwidth of my card from 7.1GB/sec to about 9GB/sec...this helps quite a bit. Overclocking the core doesn't do as much, it's mostly the memory that benefits. I wouldn't bother overclocking unless you have a fast CPU that can take advantage of the extra speed.

    Jeff,

    Before this card I had an Asus GeForce2 GTS, and before that card I had a Voodoo3. I thought the GF2's 2d quality was on par with the V3, and the MSI's is slightly clearer than the GF2. I'm running it on a 19" Samsung 950p @ 1280x960
     
  13. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm, I'm not sure where I got the 9900 3dmarks score from. I ran it again today at 1024x768x32, no AA, Pure Hardware T&L, 24bit zbuffer, only managed 7700 3dmarks. Maybe I had it running at 640x480 before, but I can't remember what the default settings are supposed to be. [​IMG]
     
  14. Kami

    Kami Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    That sounds like default settings to me...to be sure just go to Default --> Reset All
     
  15. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kami, thanks for the info! I have a Samsung 900p 19" running at 1280X1024 and 85Hz. If the MSI can do that and it looks like the Voodoo I am using now, I'll be happy.

    From what you state, it should.


    Jeff
     
  16. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did that Kami. I resolved the problem by uninstalling the refresh rate fix utility and the 29.42 drivers. Then reinstalled the 29.42 drivers again, and used Powerstrip to set the Direct3D/OpenGL refresh rates intead.

    I get about 9600 right now, at 275/550 speeds, athlon 1800+ XP non-overclocked (1533 Mhz, 133Mhz FSB). I replaced the awful thermal pad on the video card's heatsink with proper grease, but it still won't overclock. Looks like I got a GPU that is on the borderline. I should've bought a 4200!
     

Share This Page