What's new

Upgrade time! Any advice for the new guy? (1 Viewer)

Tearedrop

Auditioning
Real Name
JT
Hello HT Forum! I am relatively new to the home theater scene and am seeking advice as I look to upgrade my college set-up. Don’t get me wrong, I have been doing my own due diligence but thought it’d be beneficial to learn from the experience/expertise of others.

Here’s what I’m working with:
Receiver: Sony STR-DE575, 5x100, Dolby Digital, DTS 5.1, Dolby Pro Logic
DVD: Sony DVPNS700H/B, Upconvert to 720p/1080i/1080p through A/V sync
Front speakers L/R (just arrived!
htf_images_smilies_smile.gif
): JBL Cinema Sound cst55, Floorstanding.
Center: JBL Cinema Sound csc55 (arrives tomorrow)
Surrounds: KLH satellite speakers (came with the receiver back in 2001)
Subwoofer: KLH subwoofer (came with receiver. Entry level floor-speakers used to take care of the bass, plus it was college..as long as the music was loud no one truly paid attention
htf_images_smilies_smile.gif
)
Room: Approx 18”x16” but it’s open to dining area (it’s a loft condo), wood floor with concrete underneath

Goal:
a) Update my subwoofer, b) Consider surround speaker alternatives, and c) Get feedback on speaker wire hookup/selection.

a) I considered the subwoofer that follows the series, but prefer front vs. floor-firing. So it has been narrowed down to the Infinity PS210 (~$200 new) – in an effort to have decent power but staying within harmon/infinity/jbl maker. I also have the opportunity to purchase a Miller & Kreisel V-125 (~$225), but despite its rave reviews, I’m hesitant about its 9 years of age. Should I stick with the PS210, look to spend ~$50-60 more for the PS212, or kick it old school? Any other suggestions?