Unusual Black Bars with PS2 Connected to 42H80

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Damon B, Jul 1, 2002.

  1. Damon B

    Damon B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have my PS2 connected via Monster Components to my Toshiba 42H80. I play 2 games mostly at the moment: GT3 (16:9) and Madden Football (16:9). Anyway, I've noticed that on both games there are slight black bars on the sides of the screen. I'm running in "Full" mode which should be correct. I've verified that the games are set-up in 16:9 mode. My DVD player, which is connected to the other component inputs on the display, doesn not have this problem. Is this a PS2 issue? Or, is it a geometry issue with the display? Between the 2 games, the black bars are not similar in size. In fact, I think the bars are a lot smaller in Madden and the one on the left is almost not there.

    I hope this makes sense. I want to know if I should be contacting Best Buy to exchange my display. Maybe I should try flipping inputs with my DVD player to help isolate the problem. Any comments or advice is appreciated.

    Damon
     
  2. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you setup your PS2 for 16x9 output in the setup menu?
     
  3. Damon B

    Damon B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ack! It has a setup for this in the menu? :b I thought about that at one point but never looked into it, because I had to go. I'll try that tonight, if it does in fact have this.

    Thanks
     
  4. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Give is a shot.
    It is in the actual setup menu of the PS2 itself. Let's home it is something that simple. [​IMG]
     
  5. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's normal. On non-WS sets, the black bars usually get lost in the overscan.
     
  6. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,900
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    The PS2 menu setting for 16:9 is just for the PS2 menus, not for actual games.

    If you have a little underscan on the sides, its no big deal. As long as you see the whole image you're fine.
     
  7. Damon B

    Damon B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, apparently it is "underscan". I was just concerned, because I have been reading that watching anything with black bars for an extended period of time could risk burn-in. Kind of frustrating.... Why does the PS2 do this? So, have others noticed the same effect?

    Later
     
  8. Adam Tyner

    Adam Tyner Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damon -- it's to compensate for overscan. That way, no important information will be lopped off the screen.
     
  9. Dave F

    Dave F Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    2,885
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As for burn-in, it is no different than watching 2.35 movies on a 16:9 set.

    -Dave
     
  10. Tony Mirra

    Tony Mirra Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem with my Gamecube on my 40H80, but it doesn't do it with the Xbox.

    Strange.
     
  11. Tim Markley

    Tim Markley Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same thing on my PS2 and my XBox, but only on the left side. My TV (Mits 65907) has been properly calibrated using Avia and I have also reduced the overscan on it for DVDs using the Avia test pattern. I could adjust the TV to get rid of the black bar but then the DVDs wouldn't be 'correct' so I just leave it this way.
     

Share This Page