What's new

Ultimate TV - RCA vs. Sony? (1 Viewer)

Rob Dawn

Stunt Coordinator
I'm curious why you guys say TIVO is better than Ultimate TV?
From what I've read, TIVO doesn't take 2 Sat inputs like Ultimate TV does, so you can't record 2 shows at the same time, or watch one show while recording another, etc...
Just wondering why you think TIVO is better.
Thanks for the input,
Rob

Bill Fletcher

Stunt Coordinator
I had intended to buy the TIVO unit but when I saw Ultimate TV it seemed like a better deal. Basically I have the same points as Rob. You can record two shows at once and you can watch two shows at once with a Picture in Picture type format. It also provides some Internet options.
I have no experience with either though. Why do you think TIVO is the better option?
Thanks. Bill

KevinW

Stunt Coordinator
Bill, I'm also considering going with UltimateTV over Tivo because of the 2-channel ability. But, I did hear the other day that the new Tivo units have 2 RF inputs. While one is not currently active, an upgrade is in the works that will allow 2-channel recording.
Because of this I'm going to try to hold out until Christmas time. Maybe by then we'll have more options and cheaper prices. These DBS/PDR units just came out so the price has got to come down. Also, I hope for new units with longer recording time.
Either way, if you get one, come back and let us know how you like it. I just posted a thread in the PDR section asking about the differences between DirecTV+Tivo and UltimateTV. I hope someone has used both of these units and can offer the pros and cons of each.
Kevin

Max Knight

Supporting Actor
The DirecTV Tivo unit now can do 2 simultaneous recordings (I have a stand alone unit and DirecTV, and just got a notice letting me know that this was not available on the DirecTivo unit). In my book this makes DirecTivo far better than UltimateTV. One reason is that on DirecTivo I don't have to endure ads in the menus!