What's new

ugh, one more prog DVD question... (1 Viewer)

Geordy

Stunt Coordinator
I am receiving delivery of my Hitachi 43UWX10B on Friday and I am in the market for a Prog DVD. Based on the reviews I've read, I've got it down b/w JVC (the 75 model) or the Panasonic (61 or 91).
I definitely don't want one with the chroma bug, so that is how I picked these.
My question is, are the panasonics (sp. the 91) really worth the extra bucks? should i wait a couple months to get a progressive?
please, enlighten this lost soul
geordy
------------------

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
i don't have any personal experience with any of these dvd players, but you may want to check out the Link Removed .
if i recall correctly, they didn't think the 91 was "all that".
i think there's a huge thread somewhere about this whole article, you may want to try to find it. emotions ran very high.
again, i have no personal experience with any of the machines...i'm not endorsing or dis-endorsing anything here.
------------------
You step in the stream,
But the water has moved on.
This page is not here.

Geordy

Stunt Coordinator
i have been to the shoot out tons of times. with the exception of telling me which had the chroma bug, i thought it didn't say all that much.
i really want to know if the newer JVC (the 75) is like the 723, or if it is a little less 'quirky' as they put it.
are the 5 modes really annoying/hard to use, or do you really end up using only a couple of them?
thanks
geordy
------------------

MarkRS

Auditioning
Geordy - I have the same TV. I looked at the RP-91, great unit, but could not use the DVD-A with the current receiver that I have and didn't have a huge need for the scaling. I have read that the 61 was canceled and will not be made. Not sure about this. I ended up getting the RP-56. You can find one online for roughly $225. I have been very pleased with the unit. It has the same chip as the Phillips had in the DVD shootout.
Mark

Geordy

Stunt Coordinator