ugg. Laid off.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark Schermerhorn, Sep 26, 2002.

1. Mark Schermerhorn

Mark Schermerhorn Second Unit

So this morning I got the axe, now I'm back home. Wasn't a huge shock, the revenue in our division dropped 50% and it's still declining, so more ppl might get canned fairly soon. I think my coworkers were more shocked and freaked out than I was.
    On the bright side, with severance and vacation days, I'm getting paid for about another 3 months [​IMG] I'm going to San Diego next week anyway, so I figure I might just change my flight and stay out there for a few weeks. Ahh yes, days on the beach with a beer and women all around.
    So if anyone needs a mixed signal/analog test engineer, let me know [​IMG] There are actually some jobs out there I'm qualified for so I'm not freaking out yet.

2. John Gates

John Gates Second Unit

Mark,
    I feel for ya. It's never pleasant getting the axe. I'm a professional recruiter, and I've been laid off myself twice now.
    I used to work for a company called Tektronix. I'm sure that in your line of work you've heard of them. Anyway, in the test and measurement division, there has always been great need for engineers with your background. That whole industry could be interested, but it's been nearly 5 years now since I've worked in the industry, so I'm not sure how they are faring in the current econ.
    Start your new search early, but don't forget to enjoy yourself. Take your laptop and internet connection with you to San Diego. [​IMG]
    John G

3. Holadem

Holadem Lead Actor

Sorry to hear that Mark, but with that positive attitued, I have no doubt things will turn out well [​IMG]
    We have a have a couple of Textronix Digital scopes.
    --
    Holadem

4. Mike St.Louis

Mike St.Louis Supporting Actor

Sorry to hear that.

Have a nice vacation and I hope another opportunity comes your way.

5. PatrickM

PatrickM Screenwriter