Two E30's For center channel?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Don Scott, May 28, 2005.

1. Don Scott

Don Scott Stunt Coordinator

I was thinking about using two JBL E30's wired in series for the center channel. The brand isn't important, I'm just wondering if anyone else has done this and what they thought of it. Since these speakers are 8ohms connecting them in series should give a 16ohm load, right? Will this be easier for the receiver to handle than an 8ohm load?
    I was considering an EC35 center but I can get a pair of E30's for cheaper. I have no experience with type of setup so I would appreciate any feedback on the pros and cons for using 2 bookshelves for a center.
    Thanks.

2. Kenneth Harden

Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

Nah, I would not do it, it just wouldn't sound as good as a EC35 (which is getting RAVE reviews on this forum)

3. Brad E

Brad E Second Unit

Why 2 E30's? Why not just one?

4. Don Scott

"Why 2 E30's? Why not just one?"

I wouldn't have any use for the second speaker and I figured that by using two I would get the benefit of the two 6" woofers and the two tweeters.

Kenneth, would there be a decrease in sound quality by using the E30's in series. Like I said the only reason I am considering this is because the cost of the EC35 in Canada sucks, it's like 2.5 times the cost in the US.

5. Kenneth Harden

Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

6. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John

You'll also be drawing twice the current on that channel unless you use an external stereo amp.

7. Don Scott

"You'll also be drawing twice the current on that channel unless you use an external stereo amp."

Well I guess that idea is shot down in flames. Thanks to John. lol [​IMG]

"Even if you got slammed with duty, this price is unreal...or ROADTRIP!!!"

I did some calculations and I would end up paying close to the price that bestbuy in Canada is asking $369.99. That $179.98 in CAD$ + tax plus shipping plus duty would range in the mid $300's.