What's new

tweaking...where to begin. (1 Viewer)

SteveADavis

Agent
How do I go about trying to tweak everything. I'm on my first HT that's worth anything and am completely lost. Any good guides or someone willing to spend a little time with me on this. It would be greatly appreciated.

Shawn Bridges

Auditioning
Being a newbie I don't know a lot but based on the info in the beginners guide on the forum, go with AVIA guide to home theater. While I do not have my full system yet I did pick this up to calibrate my video and WOW what a difference!

A strange thing in my quest to find AVIA locally; Every store that sells HTs in my area had no idea what I was talking about when I asked if they carried the AVIA GtoHT. I finally found it in Sam Goodys on a rack titled Accessories.

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
I strongly recommend the Radio Shack SPL meter and the Avia, VE or Sound and Vision calibration disks. These two items will be the most dramatic change to your system, both audio and video. Before doing any "tweaks", do something do get your system calibrated to standards.

SteveADavis

Agent
Thanks for your replies. The remote that came with my receiver has an SPL meter inside that automatically adjusts everything. It's a HK AVR 325. How well does this work? Also, I was looking at video essentials and the sound & vision HT tune up. Would you recommend avia over those?

The Harmon Kardon automatic calibration feature is pretty darn good. It's one of those more exotic features in electronics that does what it's advertised to do. However, your subwoofer levels might be a bit high if you rely completely on the Harmon Kardon calibration feature, but for the most part, it does a better job than what you can do alone just using your ears.

You might want to do an initial tweak using the Harman Kardon remote and then make micro-adjustments afterwards with the assistance of a calibration DVD like AVIA.

David

Albert Damico

Stunt Coordinator