What's new

TV to view 720/30p and 480/24p material (1 Viewer)

I asked this in the HT basics area but no one responded.

I'm new to these forum and have read a lot of the basics, but am still confused. I'm an indie filmmaker (or video maker as I use video instead of film) and I was wondering if there's a decent sized TV that can display these images with out converting them. If anyone's interrested, I'm asking about this because 2 cameras recently came out that use these formats.
What I really want is a rear projection TV that can handle this kind of content. Plasma and LCD are just too pricey right now for me. Also curious about 480/30p material. So, is there a rear projection TV that can handle these formats without converting them?
Hate to drag this into the ground, but could someone also confirm to me that the "Reverse 3:2 Pulldown" and "Digital Reality Creation" features on some TVs doesn't mean it displays 24p without conversion

Thanks ahead of time for any information!

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
Are you sure the camera really outputs 720/30p, 480/24p, or 480/30p uncompressed? These are not standard consumer video formats and no ordinary or HDTV set can accept them.

As far as I know, video cameras only output standard video, making the conversion for you as needed. In order to convert the aforementioned camera frame rates to standard video, pulldown is used. THe 24 fps video camera or telecine machine creates the 3-2 pulldown so 60 fields or frames come out each second. (59.94 to be more exact for NTSC)