TV Sound through home theater speakers

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by RichRopes, Oct 1, 2005.

  1. RichRopes

    RichRopes Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Help! I'm a total neophyte. I just bought a 50" DLP TV (monitor) and a 500 watt home theater system. I use a digital, HDTV cable box for my tuner. The home theater speakers are great, but only work when I'm watching a DVD. When I watch TV, the system defaults to the internal speakers. How do I get the TV sound to play through the better speakers? Thanks!
     
  2. Tim Hoover

    Tim Hoover Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What you'll need to do is determine if your television sports a pair of audio OUTPUTS. If so, just run a dual-RCA cable from those to any unused input in your audio receiver...
     
  3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    The cable box has audio outputs, and probably a digital output, too. You can connect them to your sound system. While you’re at it, connect the cable box’s video outputs too.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  4. Thomas_A

    Thomas_A Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hehe...do what I do. Go into the menu of the TV and disable tv speakers. I think speakers should be an Option instead of the norm these days [​IMG]
     
  5. Jerome Grate

    Jerome Grate Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Try this set up:

    Cable Box analog audio (red & white) out

    into the VCR if you have one for time shifting and out

    into the t.v. and use the t.v.s 3d surround set up and out

    into your Video 1,2 or 3 input on the receiver.

    If you are running DPLII or DPLIIx depending on the receiver, the 3d surround set up will really activate the surrounds and create a soundstage via DPLII or IIx. I use the same set up with the Sony t.v. and it sounds great. But I have to admit, the Toshiba's 3d surround set up was really good, certainly better than the Sony with Logic 7.
     

Share This Page