What's new

TV guys, I need Ideas on HDTV set no wider than 36". (1 Viewer)

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
HI,
I am looking for a new TV to put in my new ent. center(I currently have a 27" regular sony. The spot is only 36" wide(height is no prob) so a 36"XBR is out. I'm looking for all the goodies the XBR's have (3:2 pulldown, Progressive/line doubler, Flat, HDTV ready at least, etc...
I'm fairly new to the TV technology and industry so I don't know much about all the new TV's but I'm learning quick.
I have looked at the Pani CT-34WX50 16X9 TV and liked what I saw. It will also fit perfectly(maybe out of my budget though @ $2700). I also looked at 32" Tau and XBR but that's about all I looked at so far. I need suggestions please. I don't have a budget right now due to a sale pending on ebay but it could be around $3000 and I would like to stay there or less. Less would be best but not if it's a huge sacrifice. How are the Toshiba, JVC, etc. HDTV's?
Thanks for the help!

David West

Auditioning
In a similar thread I suggested the new Toshiba flat screens...
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/uub/...ML/008761.html
The 36" is too wide for your cabinet, but the 34" 16:9 set will fit. The only 36" TV that I know about that is less than 36" wide is the Hitachi 36UDX10S (and previous years' models). It does inverse 3-2 pulldown, but it is not a purely flat screen. It is well regarded by those who have bought it -- search for this model number and last year's 32UDX01S model and you will find a number of posts on this and similar forums. It only has one set of HD component inputs, though. Do you have any depth limitations with your cabinet? I had to modify mine somewhat as it is only 21" deep.
[Edited last by David West on November 07, 2001 at 08:41 PM]

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
Do you see the price of HDTV's dropping anytime within the next year or 2? Maybe I should just wait considering I won't have an HDTV tuner or Progressive DVD player yet.