Turning over a "new leaf" in regards to Special Edition DVDs

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave H, Aug 15, 2001.

1. Dave H

Dave H Producer

I've been buying DVDs for almost two years and own close to 90. I have a very nice home theater set-up and am a big HT fan.
    However, I refuse to buy ANY new "Special" or "Ultimate" or "Director" or "Collector's" edition of a DVD I own unless there is a MAJOR, SUBSTANTIAL increase in video and audio quality. Being a capitalist, I find nothing ethically wrong with studios re-releasing certain movies on DVD (such as American Pie, as of late) but I will not be buying any new re-release if there is only a slight improvement in quality (I'm not one big on extras - although they're OK - that won't be enough to sway me.) Now, don't get me wrong, there are some titles I own which I hope will be re-released at a MUCH higher quality (Tombstone comes to mind) but I regret having spent money having replaced my original Donnie Brasco, for example, and a couple others. All of this points to the new SuperBit DVDs being released. Just how much better, if any, are these really going to be? If they are 5-10% better than the original release, are they worth purchasing? That's for you to decide. For me, the answer is clear. I'm not going to fall into the trap. I just don't think it's worth the money. Has anyone else out there been thinking this way?

2. Ryan Patterson

Ryan Patterson Stunt Coordinator

Oh, I whole-heartedly agree.