Turning old speakers into a DIY sub.

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by RyanHud, Jan 2, 2006.

1. RyanHud

RyanHud Stunt Coordinator

Hey everyone, hope you had a safe and happy holidays.
    Ok here goes. Im 19 years old and I love quality sound. My set up consisted of just a panny SAXR-50 and a pair of cerwin vega AT-12's. I recently pulled the trigger on the Athena micra-6 system on sale for $299CAD. Im happy with the sound of the sattelites, but the subwoofer just isnt cutting it. Now my intentions were to try and sell my AT-12's after i bought the micras and wait for a year or so until I got bitten by the upgrade bug. Well while i was sittin here breakin in the new system with a few scenes from LOTR when the thought popped in my head. Would it be worth it to turn the AT's into some kind of DIY subwoofer? I know i would have to buy an amp and whatnot, but id already have the 2 woofers and the materials for an enclosure. I have never done DIY before but im highly interested and I think this could be a good starting point. Im looking forward to, and I appreciate all the advice you fellow HT'ers have to offer.
    Thanks,
    --Ryan

2. ThomasW

ThomasW Cinematographer

Here's the problem. The drivers in the AT are woofer not subwoofers. So they're designed to play higher to match the midrange, they're not to go low.

You'd be better off selling the entire system and using the cash to fund your subwoofer project

3. RyanHud

RyanHud Stunt Coordinator

Thank you. Now i feel like an idiot, i dont know why I didn't even consider that haha. I just figured since they are 12" woofers they would work. Ah well, thanks again however.

4. Owen Bartley

Owen Bartley Second Unit

Ryan, you could do like I did and just leave the Vegas in as your main L & R channels and have them set to "large" for a little while, if you really feel you need the bass. Then in a little while you can put together the money to get your sub project going.