Tube amp and tube cd player together, Causing problems.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bruce Chang, Jun 23, 2002.

1. Bruce Chang

Bruce Chang Second Unit

Would a tube amp and tube cd player cancel each other out? When I have the tube amp and cd player hooked up the bass sounds muddier then a Sony 20es cd player my friend had, but the highs on the tube cd player where much better. How would I make the bass a little tighter? I changed the output tubes and input tubes and it still sounds muddy. Sould I sell the cd player? What are some good non tube cd players that have the highs like a tube and bass that is tight

2. Lin Park

Lin Park Second Unit

I am by no means an expert on this subject because I only have tube amps at this time, but I do know from experience that when you have multiple tube sources in your system you need to invert the polarity to the speakers (sometimes). I recently auditioned a pre-amp that had tubes and the dealer was very explicit that I should reverse the speaker wires at the speaker (i.e. move the + to the ground and the ground to the +). Please research this further before doing it because I wouldn't want you to damage any of your equipment but it could be the answer you are looking for.

Lin

3. Bruce Chang

Bruce Chang Second Unit

Hmm, the wierd thing is that the PSBs are already out of phase meaning that they're reversed polarity. If I reverse the phase I don't think I will hurt the speakers. If anyone wants to disagree with me, by all means chime in. I know that in car audio, people reverse the phasing all the time.

4. Saurav

Saurav Cinematographer

Do you have your CD player going directly into the amp? You might be running into an impedance mismatch issue - do you know the output impedance of your CD player and the input impedance of your amp?

There's no reason why a tube CD player can't work with a tube amp.

5. Bruce Chang

Bruce Chang Second Unit