What's new

Trying to rebuild a decent apartment setup, but have been out of the loop (1 Viewer)

gostillerz

Auditioning
Real Name
Nick
Hi everyone. I'm not too good at wording stuff, so please bear with me. Here is my situation. I have a small apartment, and my existing equipment is as follows.. Insignia 42" 1080p LCD (When using one HDMI input, I see what I guess is burn-in from the other HDMI, but I thought that was impossible) Integra DTR-5.5 (Center channel is dead in surround modes, but works in all channel stereo), no HDMI Polk 50W 10" sub 6 of those wedge shaped Insignia bookshelf speakers (don't sound too bad surprisingly) 2009 Mac Mini running Plex Xbox 360 DirecTv HR22 Harmony 880 iPhone I'd rate my usage as 70% Mac Mini, 20% Xbox, 10% DirecTv (probably losing the satellite though, Plex rules!). Not interested in 3D. Honestly, I don't even know where to start. Receiver wise, I'm leaning towards the slim Marantz models. 50W is good enough for me, I've had Onkyo/Integra for the past 10 years, so I kind of want something different, and I love my 2270. I'm having a problem justifying trading specs for physical size for near the same price though. Accessories4less has better deals for full size receivers too. The Mac Mini displays video through HDMI, but has to use toslink for audio. TV, well I hate the one I have. Are DLP and plasmas still bad with burn-in? So my general question is: With about $1000, what would you guys do? Again, sorry for the post which makes no sense. I'm a UPS guy, so my brain is a bit fried around this time of year.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene