What's new

Trying to choose a projector and home theater setup~Any suggestions please? (1 Viewer)

Tim1967

Auditioning
Real Name
Tim
Hi~this is my first time on the forum and I am a novice in this.

I just had my basement finished and I will have a 14 x 15 room for my movie room. I plan on using the 15 foot wall for the screen and having a couch on the opposite wall underneath where a projector can be mounted to the ceiling. I plan on hooking up my PS3 and using this mostly for watching Blu-Ray movies and playing the occasional game. I am looking for suggestions for a projector for under $2000. I've seen that the Optoma HD20 has received some positive reviews and is around $1000. While I would be very happy to save the money, I'm wondering if spending more would get me a much better quality projector.

Another question related to this~how do I determine how big of screen to get? The bigger the better as far as I'm concerned would be nice. I'm hoping to get at least 110" although I don't know if this is feasible with a smaller room. I've seen that there are Da-Lite screens available custom cut for a few hundred dollars. I've also seen screens for much higher prices. Would I be happy with a Da-Lite or is there a big difference with a different type of screen?

I'm also wondering with this size of room can I fully utilize a 7.1 system or should I stick with a 5.1 system? I suppose I could move out the couch a foot from the wall if that would be helpful. For the receiver and speakers~my research so far has led me to the Onkyo HT-S5200, S6200, or S7200, which range in price from around $400-$800. From my understanding, if I get a 7.1 system, I should get a system that is fully HDMI compatible versus the HDMI pass through? Is this right?

Thank you~I would greatly appreciate any advice or thoughts on any of these questions.

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim