Trying to build a Sanus type rack...Help!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Grady Hollums, Oct 10, 2001.

1. Grady Hollums

Grady Hollums Second Unit

Oct 24, 1999
    I would like to build something similar to the Sanus Rack found @
    I have never done anything like this before, but plan on buying a HDTV in two years and would like to build a 5-6 shelf rack for my equipment and then a video table/shelf for the TV when I buy it.
    Right now I am willing to start working on the rack, and I think that the Sanus Natural Audio rack looks like it might not be too hard to make and would be a good starting project. The only tool I have is a jigsaw, workbench, some clamps, and a Dremmel.
    Basically, I am asking the builders of HTF for your advise and wisdom. I am just starting to get into woodworking and being a Seminary Student, I tend to be on the poor side, heh.
    Let the questions begin:
    Is there a certain place I should go to get my wood? Can I get glass cut there?
    Should I just go to a HiFi A/V store and measure all the equipment, and then take them to Home Depot or Lowes?
    Can I get Glass cut at Lowes or Home Depot?
    Should I buy more tools for the project?
    Are there any easy projects for audio racks and TV table/racks that I should look into instead of attempting to make a Sanus want-a-be rack?
    I don't plan on using the metal rods at the top and bottom, but a piece of wood. I like the idea of a backing that conceals the chords, and plan on trying to go that too.
    Thank you so much for all of you that help me with this project! I appreciate all the help and will let you all know how the project goes when I start it and show off the finished product.
    In Him,
    My Home
  2. Stefan A

Stefan A Second Unit

May 27, 2001

Myram Second Unit

Aug 18, 2001
    Can't find any HT picture links in your sig.....could you post it so I could take a look too.
    Home Theater Page
  4. Brett Robert

Brett Robert Agent