What's new

trying real hard to setup my home theatre (1 Viewer)

Creeper001

Auditioning
Real Name
Colin Mc.
Hi All:
I hope there is some god out there can help with my home theater setup.
I’m new to this kind of forum so please be kind.
I just purchased new components for my home system.
here they are as follows
HDTV: SOYO model 4218A
DVD: PHILIPS DVDR3400
Receiver: SONY HT-DDW900
CABLE BOX: Scientific Atlantic Explorer 3250HD
I’m hoping that someone out there can walk me through the whole process
Of hooking up all the components for the best possible video and sound.
The manuals are good but they don’t relate to my particular setup

bassman99floyd

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jimmy
Tough question to answer, without more knowledge of all your components. What kind of inputs does your TV have? If the TV has Component Video Inputs (CVI) use a Component Video Cable (CVC) (Red, Blue & Green) will be needed.

Because I didn't feel like typing out the full words for CVI, your equipment might call them by the full word. HDMI could be another choice.

Think of it this way, the DVD has to send the video OUT to your TV, in order to view. Use CVI OUT of DVD, to CVCI IN on TV. If either/or doesn't have these type of connection, use Video OUT on DVD to Video in on the TV. This is usually a single yellow tipped cable. S-VHS might be another possibility?

Either way, this is how your TV will receive a video signal from the DVD. Repeat these steps for all your video components. Hopefully your TV has multiple video ins (antennaes)?

Will you ever want to watch TV, and not have your HT on? Does your receiver have fiber optic inputs, or just RCA? Connect all audio outs of each component(TV, DVD, VCR & Cable box) to your receiver. The better the cable, the cleaner the signal going to each component will be.