Trouble with Pluge---DVD player or Projector?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Daniel_M, Feb 5, 2002.

  1. Daniel_M

    Daniel_M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm reposting this from the DVD Player

    forum in the hopes of more feeback.

    Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

    Dan

    >I recently tried to do a video lineup

    with the Video Essentials DVD and

    had trouble with the pluge test. I could

    not see the "blacker than black" test signal.

    With the DVD came a notice which said........

    "The established method for setting the brightness

    control as described in Video Essentials requires

    a stripe of picture information that goes below black.

    Even though such image information is encoded and

    preserved in this DVD, most FIRST GENERATION players

    are not capable of repoducing it."

    My question is: does anybody know if the Sony DVP-S7700

    is considered a first generation player?

    (a repondent in the other forum says it isn't but

    that doesn't mean it will resolve the V.E. pluge test)

    I have a Sony CRT front projector which is highly

    accurate and I have noticed on some films a loss

    of information in dark areas that cannot be resolved

    by adjusting brightness or contrast, same with the

    V.E. pluge test.

    Time for a new DVD player?
     
  2. Kevin P

    Kevin P Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Sony 7700 is a second generation player. The 7000 was the first generation model.

    Try going into your DVD player's setup menu and turning the "Black Level" on. I had to do this on my Sony 9000ES to see the moving black bars on the Avia brightness pattern in interlaced mode.

    You'll have to recalibrate after you change this setting, but then it looks like you're trying to do that anyway!

    KJP
     
  3. Daniel_M

    Daniel_M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kevin,

    I don't think the 7700 has that black

    level adjustment in the setup menu.

    I've been through the menus and the

    manual again and can't find any mention of it.

    Are you sure it's available in my model DVD player?

    Dan
     
  4. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    The 7700 is a second generation player. I believe Video Essentials has a procedure for setting the black level despite the DVD player not being able to produce blacker than black. I am not sure about AVIA. Anyone?
     
  5. Daniel_M

    Daniel_M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil,

    Yes V.E. does have an adjustment

    when you can't do the pluge test properly.

    Trouble is, it's really only a half measure

    and doesn't fix the problem of crushed blacks

    in the films I'm watching.

    From the responses in this and other forums it looks

    like the problem does originate with my Sony DVD player.

    Thanks to all who replied to my original

    question.

    Dan
     

Share This Page