Trouble with Dolby Surround and cable

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by GregHC, May 7, 2004.

  1. GregHC

    GregHC Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Pioneer Elite 45tx.

    I have my xbox and dvd player set-up to via digital connection to get 5.1 surround.

    I've tried countless times to get my digital cable box (timewarner pioneer) to work via the digital cable (co-ax). I get no sound.
    I've looked through the cable box set-up menu, but nothing about Dolby or DTS can be found. The Dolby Sign is on the front of the cable box.
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does the box have an output specifically labeled for digital sound? ("Digital cable" doesn't automatically mean "digital sound".)

    Are you sure you're trying channels that broadcast in Dolby Digital (not all channels do, and not all cable systems carry the DD signal)?

    BTW, you won't anything in any cable box about DTS. It's not used in broadcasts.

    M.
     
  3. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Dolby can be stereo, so just because the Dolby symbol is lit up, does not mean it is receiving a DD 5.1 stream.
     
  4. GregHC

    GregHC Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes there is a spot for digital sound.
    It is an Orange colored plug in, and says digital sound above it.

    I never tried going up to the digital channels though...

    Would it be ok to hook up both Digital and L/R at the same time? Or would I need to run seperate hook-ups 1 for digital channels and then 1 for regular channels?
     
  5. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    You should have no problem hooking them both up, and in fact, some cable boxes will only send digital signal when one is present, while sending all other broadcast signal via analog, meaning you HAVE to have them both hooked up in some cases. If you have HBO, that would be a good place to start, since they seem to have a good percentage of digital (sound) broadcasts.
     
  6. GregHC

    GregHC Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,
    I'll try that, I think they do the Sopranos in 5.1 and I can VoD that as a test
     

Share This Page