Tripp Lite ISOBAR 6 DBS

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Roel_S, Apr 25, 2002.

  1. Roel_S

    Roel_S Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wondering if anyone has this surge protection and what's their experience with it. I'm thinking of buying this and would like to get opinions regarding this product.

    I'm planning on hooking up the following:

    Xbox system

    Receiver

    TV

    Cable

    DVD
     
  2. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    I think I have the same one except is 8 sockets. I've haven't had any problems with it. I've had it for about 3 years. The sockets are a bit close together so if you have any plugs that are box shape you might get a little size problem but small ones are ok cause the sockets face outward. Tripplite makes reliable equipment, the box is aluminum and not plastic and has a good reputation.

    Jay
     
  3. WilliamB

    WilliamB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My advice is to buy a UPS that also conditions power. I got a Tripplite Smart500 USB with power conditioning. I checked with the mfr and ran their answers past an EE buddy of mine and this unit does have sine wave output. Plus, it has a $50k equipment warranty[​IMG]
     
  4. Roel_S

    Roel_S Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How much do the UPS with conditions power cost?
     
  5. WilliamB

    WilliamB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The one I bought was about $150
     
  6. Roel_S

    Roel_S Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's out of my price range.. [​IMG] I'm deciding between these two: ISOBAR6DBS and Monster HTS800. Any thoughts on these products?
     
  7. WilliamB

    WilliamB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well... I've had really good luck with products made by Tripp Lite (isobars are one product) But - Monster has been spoken of highly as well although I don't have any experience with their stuff
     
  8. StephenL

    StephenL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. Alex F.

    Alex F. Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 1999
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We're using two Isobar-6 DBS units to protect our most expensive gear. I will obtain 1 or 2 more for other rooms when we move into our new home next month. A great product.
     
  10. Roel_S

    Roel_S Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stephen,

    What do you mean by humming noise? Doesn't the ISOBAR6DBS have COAX protection?
     
  11. Roel_S

    Roel_S Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forgot to ask, but does the PANAMAX have noise filtering similar to what Monster Surge are proclaiming which on it's website state that it eliminates the white dots to give better reception/signal to the equipment plug into the surge supressor?
     
  12. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    roel, look at specific unit specs: what you're looking for is AC Noise Filter for RF/EMI.
    In general, they all provide equivalent.
     
  13. Chris_Freeman

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Tripplite Isobar6DBS has 2 pairs coax, phone line, and noise filtering. Its a very good unit. And it also has $50,000 in equipment protection.

    William, the problem with using ups is they usually are not rated for high wattage applications.The unit you have is rated at 500watts output, my receiver alone requires over 400, with multiple components as in a HT you are quickly going to be stressing the unit. And it only has pure sine wave output on ac power which most do, on battery its not.
     
  14. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    TrippLite ISOBAR6DBS does have two COAX ports but it seems they are not interchangeable. The owners manual specifies the TOP F-terminals for Satellite input/output. The BOTTOM specifies cable tv or antenna coax. The specs dont give the clamping voltage so far as I can see, but here is the usual set-up, and may apply to other makers' units.

    Satellite coax feeds 13v and 18v signals from the dish LNBs. A SAT designed coax port carries about 27v clamping.

    Cable tv ports will carry ~ 0.7v clamping.

    If one connects the SAT coax into the Cable tv port, that port MAY block the SAT signals.
     
  15. StephenL

    StephenL Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     

Share This Page