Triple 8" subwoofers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rory Buszka, Nov 6, 2002.

1. Rory Buszka

Rory Buszka Supporting Actor

Jun 5, 2002
    I have seen some subwoofer designs that use three 8" woofers on the bottom rather than one larger heavier driver. I know this is intended to respond quicker than a big 12", but do 3 drivers really improve all that much over a 12-incher? Or is this just a gimmick? I know Bose (eww) has a new transmission line triple 5.25" Acoustimass bass-module that uses high-excursion 5.25" woofers. Maybe the surface area of the 3 5.25" drivers equals up to that of an 8" or 10".
  2. Ryan Solberg

Ryan Solberg Auditioning

Nov 5, 2002
    well, i'm no expert, BUT it doesn't matter how much surface area you have if its divided by 2,3, or even 4 cones.... THEY STILL WON'T BE ABLE TO PLAY AS LOW as the single cone setup with the same amount of cone area. Given the x-max of the larger cone sub isn't abnormally small.

The multiple cone setup will probably tend to be peaky in the higher bass frequencies.... 50hz+, and then drop off pretty quickly afterwards. Of course you gotta factor in the port tuning if its in a ported/bandpass box. I don't know about you, but I'd rather have a single cone that is able to play from 20hz up, than 40-50hz and up.

EDIT: in fact.... i have a hard time calling a speaker a sub unless it can hit sub 40hz tones....if they can't play WELL lower than 40hz then its nothing more than a midbass driver.
  3. Chris Tsutsui

Chris Tsutsui Screenwriter

Feb 1, 2002
    Here's the thing with "speed" of woofers and size.

A common fallacy is to believe that smaller drivers are "faster" than big ones.

The only thing "faster" about smaller drivers is that they can most likely play higher frequencies.

Since most subs get crossed over at 80hz, there is a limit to the highest frequencies they play which makes all subs equally as "fast".