"Trees Lounge" Special Edition DVD Question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jesse Blough, Sep 25, 2002.

1. Jesse Blough

Jesse Blough Second Unit

I just recently discovered the great Steve Buscemi film "Trees Lounge", so I went searching to see if it was out on DVD.

Well... It is. The only problem is that the special edition widescreen version with director's commentary is apparently out of print (already...). There's a second version, but it's pan and scan with no special features.

The special edition is apparently very rare as I've seen it at websites for around 35 bucks, used.

Here's the main problem: I don't want to spend that kind of money on a used DVD. Who knows how banged up it is, and besides... That's a lot of money for a single disc DVD. I'm a college student... Heh. *a moth flies out of his wallet*

And here's my main question: Should I just bite the bullet and get the pan and scan version (I can find it for as low as 10 bucks, brand new), or should I keep trying to hunt down the special edition? Is there anybody out there who has and/or seen the SE who can tell me if it would be worth that kind of money?

Better yet, any news if the SE is going to get put back into print? That would be great.

Thanks.

2. Carrol Jo

Carrol Jo Extra

Hi Jesse - welcome to the forum!
    The Pioneer release of Trees Lounge is one of the first used DVDs I bought a few years ago. I would highly recommend seeking out this edition; it's definitely worth the extra cost, particularly if you're a Buscemi fan. His commentary is low-key but very insightful - as is often the case in commentaries by writer/directors.
    So I guess the answer to your question really depends on a) how much the film and it's performers appeals to you, and b) how much tolerance you have for Pan & Scan. [​IMG]

3. Jesse Blough

Jesse Blough Second Unit