What's new

Transferring programs to a new computer (1 Viewer)

BradleyS.

Stunt Coordinator
I'm upgrading to a newer pc in the next couple of days and have some stuff I need to transfer over. I know how to do documents and files, but im not sure about transferring programs like Microsoft office 2003 and my norton antivirus subscription. I have the Microsoft disc but not the norton disc. what do I need to do to make sure these will load on my new computer without it saying I have a subscription on my old one?

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
Use a good utility that will transfer your data, settings and programs (including registry settings, etc.)

Windows XP has a built-in transfer utility, but I've never used it. Also my experience with such things is that Microsoft licenses the basics from some third-party publisher and you end up with a fee, but stripped-down version of somebody else's program.

I've had good luck with Detto Intellimover and PC Relocator - both of which include the required cables for linking your old and new PCs, the software for moving your files, programs and setting from the old to the new PC and to undo the process if there are problems. They're not free, or even cheap, but they work very well.

Regards,

Joe

Eric Samonte

Screenwriter
Doesn't "ghosting" work as well...like Norton Ghost I think. This program would actually create a copy of ur harddrive onto another.....

Kimmo Jaskari

Screenwriter
If at all possible, you should try to go with installs from CD, IMHO.

Fresh installs from installation media is always better than transferring over old stuff, especially as compared to transferring the whole content of your old boot drive to the new one. Windows does tend to clog up with old crud as time goes by, and a fresh install is a good opportunity to get rid of some of that.

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino