Tower speakers are they ok to use as surround?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by robert dawson, Oct 30, 2003.

1. robert dawson

robert dawson Auditioning

This is my first set up and first post since I am a newbie to the Home Theater. I have a H/K DPR 1001 with H/K WT6 for front Towers and H/K C for the center . Would like to use towers also for rear surrounds Infinity brand. Will it be ok to use towers since I dont want to invest in stands?

2. Ronnie Schildha

Will it be okay? Yeah it will be okay but it is kind of overkill in my opinon. I know people that are using some pretty big tower speakers for rear surround but if you talk tp them about their systems you find that is more of a competition with each other. Information sent to rear surrounds in alot of movies can be anywhere from pretty slim to non-existent (especially older movies). If the information ain't there, the speaker ain't gonna do nothing (I am talking DD or DTS before everybody jumps in on me). I would prefer to have a smaller set manufactured by same company with timbre matched drivers if possible. I really think you would be much happier with your system.

3. robert dawson

Thanks for your responce . I was thinking about a 100 watt infinity tower with a 2 way for the surrounds. But if you think its a over kill I guess I'll go with some small sub like HKB 4 or Infinity Entra One . Thanks Ronnie

4. Ronnie Schildha