What's new

total tv noob here needing advice (1 Viewer)

London Lawson

Second Unit
my wife and i are wanting to buy an hdtv. we dont wanna spend over 2000(cheaper the better). i will be hooking up an xbox, dvd player, satellite reciever and a audio reciever.

we want wide screen and at least 42 inches. and i heard these new tvs burn out or bulbs need to be replaced every few years, is this true???

ChrisYK

Stunt Coordinator

If your budget is $2000, the newer technology (plasma/LCD/CLP) is a moot point. For 42 inches on your budget you'll need to go with CRT.

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
CRT is still the best if the size-weight of a big direct view or RPTV is ok. And it's usually cheaper to boot too!

digital-based RPTVs and front projectors use bulbs that do burn out. CRTs use tubes that should last you a long time if you calibrate properly and don't abuse them. They age/dim with use, but they don't just blow out like light bulbs.

Scott Reiss

Agent
London, I've just started to look around again at TVs myself for the first time in about 8 or 9 years. It's like starting all over. I can't even figure out yet what DLP means.

Anyway, I noticed a 40" widescreen LCD projection HDTV Monitor at Costco over the weekend made by Panasonic. It was a PT-40LC12. It was $1900. Don't know if that helps, but I'm interested in everyone's input just like you. I also would like to stay under $2000, but even more important, I need to have something that is within a specific width-- right around 36-38 inches wide max.

I also saw an Akai 42" HDTV monitor widescreen (not LCD) at Costco, model PT4298HD for $1000.

Hope this helps ... Scott

nick_rh

Stunt Coordinator
The LCD screen would be a good choice for the Xbox since (1) it has a 720p native resolution and (2) you don't have to worry about burn-in. I've seen it in action and it has a very nice picture.

ChrisYK

Stunt Coordinator