What's new

Total Newbie Sonosub Q's (1 Viewer)

FredC

Grip
I've been reading up on sonosubs through the links here, and am seriously considering building one. I would just like some advice on what driver to get. I'm going to be replacing a 10 inch JBL sub that the amp went bad on, so I am thinking 12 inch should be ok, and probably the PE 250 watt amp. This is all very preliminary as I most likely will need to wait a few months to start. I would like to keep total cost under $400 and looked at the DVC on PE's site, and am aware of the Adire shiva? but am just looking for any other ideas, pro's and cons.
I have a Yamaha RX-V1300 and primarily use the sytem for DVD's.

Thanks

Fred

Fred,
I would recommend the Tempest from Adire Audio. It's $150 and you will be hard pressed to find any complaints about it around here. I just built a 260L vented tempest sonosub paired with the PE 250 watt plate amp. All I can say is WOW! Your only talking about $280 plus enclosure costs, which could be kept under $120, keeping you under $400. Thats just my $.02 send me an email if you want the full specs on my sono. Good Luck and have fun!

Dave
[email protected]

Ryan Schnacke

Supporting Actor
You're on the right track. With the Adire drivers you can rest assured that the white paper alignments will sound great. But honestly, the DVC would probably work fine in those alignments as well. I picked the one that was cheapest at the time. Parts Express is always running Ebay auctions and very frequently has the DVC up. They set the reserve below their normal price so theres a chance you could get a deal on a DVC.

PE has tremendous customer support and technical staff. I highly recommend them. Adire is likely very similar but I don't know from experience.